Xie Jihua: Looking Up to Entrepreneurs

9

▪Reporter Zhang Jun

Group after group of young people came in on bicycles and drove away in BMWs.

Staying in place is Yangpu Technology and Entrepreneurship Center, an incubator, as well as general manager Xie Jihua and his team. "When they ride a bicycle, do not treat them with a giver's attitude, they come with longing, is the positive energy of society; they drive a BMW away, do not envy them, they pay the hardship, far beyond what you can imagine." Xie Jihua has always said to the staff, to "look up to the entrepreneurs".

Yangpu Science and Technology Entrepreneurship Center (YTEC) is the only center in Yangpu that has been able to provide financing for enterprises. From the original 6,000-square-meter old factory building, the total assets of Yangpu Science and Technology Entrepreneurship Center has grown to 3 billion RMB, serving nearly 1,600 enterprises and increasing the total amount of financing from 80 million RMB in 2008 to 1.5 billion RMB in 2014.

"Incubating" ideals

Incubators were first introduced to China in 1987 as part of the venture capital industry chain. When many incubators in China were still at the stage of "collecting rent", Yang Chuang was the first to propose a "business mentor service program" in the country. "Very often, entrepreneurs are passionate, but they don't know exactly what they want to do," Xie Jihua said. Xie Jihua said. "We invite successful entrepreneurs to serve as business mentors, but entrepreneurs have limited resources and can't be the 'standard' for incubated companies. None of the incubator staff have started a business, and it is impossible for them to present themselves as 'mentors' to the entrepreneurs, and they need to improve their skills."

Jihua Xie has served as a mentor to many entrepreneurs. With his experience in the industry, JIHUA XIE is good at "nudging" entrepreneurs at the right time. Zhang Yuangang, who graduated from Shanghai Institute of Technology, was the first to start a business in the field of computer software development. Xie Jihua asked him: "After selling the developed software, what's next? Where is the profit model? You need to figure out how to get clients to dump you."

The turnaround occurred in 2010. Biyun community to build a smart community project, take this project or not, Zhang Yuan just asked for "master" Xie Jihua's opinion. Xie Jihua to his analysis, "the Internet of things has just emerged, the future development trend is immeasurable, and this project allows you to do from the software transition to do service supply, Bi Yun is your opportunity to learn, is to do at a loss." After accepting Biyun's smart community project, Zhang Yuan Gang made a big splash, "waiting at home", community e-commerce and other livelihood services were welcomed.

It's not easy to start a business.

Xie Jihua said that starting a business is not easy. This is also his personal feelings. In 1994, Xie Jihua left the work of the municipal party committee for 11 years and went to the Shanghai Science and Technology Investment Company. In the Municipal Youth League Committee, he was a minister, but he was only an ordinary employee in the Science and Technology Investment Corporation, starting from zero.

At Keitu, Xie Jihua keeps "a step up every year," and at one point he was general manager of five subsidiaries of all types, from real estate and property to development companies. "Even though I only got one salary, I had four more learning opportunities than anyone else."

Around 2001, Xie Jihua and the incubator crossed paths. When Yangchuang was established, the three shareholders, namely, the Municipal Science and Technology Commission, Fudan University and Yangpu District Government, invested a total of 2.64 million yuan, and all the assets were only an old 6000-square-meter candy factory building. What attracted Xie Jihua to leave his old company and join Yangchuang even though he had to give back a year's prize money? "Yangpu District is the 'university district' of Shanghai, concentrating 40% of the city's university resources, with obvious potential spillover effects from research results, and is one of the first innovative model cities in the country. The entrepreneurship-led employment rate here is much higher than the national average." Xie Jihua said it was this geographical advantage that gave birth to the Yangpu Hi-Tech Entrepreneurial Service Center. On numerous occasions later, Xie Jihua spoke proudly of how "the linkage of university campuses, science and technology parks, and public communities is an important path for the transformation of Yangpu, and incubators are considered the earliest practitioners of the 'Three Districts Linkage' idea."

Innovation "incubation"

"Completely rely on the government blood transfusion, we hold the rice bowl, and do things like the authorities, must not be the way out of business incubation." In the beginning of 2005, Yangpu Hi-Tech Entrepreneurial Service Center and Yangpu Incubation Base of Shanghai Hi-Tech Enterprises, which are public institutions, were reorganized into the current Yangchuang, which abolished the original business establishment and implemented the labor contract system from the general manager to the employees.
In 2007, Xie Jihua proposed to build an incubator group, which formed a series of business subsidiaries and professional service companies with different functions, such as microfinance companies, investment companies, business companies, property companies, and professional incubators for Internet of Things and cloud computing.

After that, Yangchuang started to build "business nursery" and "accelerator" to extend the chain of business service and form an incubator cluster. In the nursery, all that is needed is a "decent idea". After entering the project, office, utilities and other expenses are provided by public services, completely "zero-cost", cultivation period of six months, promising on "upgrade".

In the field of incubators, Yangchuang has become synonymous with "innovation", as commented by some people. The first microfinance company with an incubator as the main sponsor; the first business incubator in China with loan and investment functions; the establishment of an innovative service system with "business nursery - incubator - accelerator" as the core... ...

en_USEnglish
zh_CNChinese en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

谢吉华:仰视创业者

9

■本报记者 张骏

一拨又一拨的年轻人,骑着自行车进来,开着宝马车走了。

留在原地的,是杨浦科技创业中心这个孵化器,以及总经理谢吉华和他的团队。“他们骑自行车时,不要以一种施予者的态度对待他们,他们满怀憧憬而来,是社会的正能量;他们开宝马走时,不要嫉妒他们,他们付出的艰辛,远非你能想象。”谢吉华一直对员工说,要“仰视创业者”。

这句话,高高悬在杨浦科技创业中心的门口。也正是秉持这样的理念,杨创与创业者们共成长,从原来6000多平方米的旧厂房发展到总资产30亿元,现有服务企业近1600家,为企业融资总额从2008年的8000多万元猛增到2014年的15亿元,成为上海资产规模最大、服务功能最完善的科技企业孵化器。

“孵化”理想

孵化器最早在1987年被引进中国,属于创业投资产业链的一环。在国内许多孵化器都还停留在“收房租”的阶段时,杨创率先在全国提出“创业导师服务纲领”。“很多时候,创业者一团激情,但并不清楚自己到底要做什么。”谢吉华说。“我们邀请成功企业家来担任创业导师,但企业家资源有限,不可能成为在孵企业‘标配’。孵化器工作人员都没创办过企业,在创业者面前不可能以‘导师’自居,需要提升能力。”

谢吉华担任过导师。曾经的从业经历,让谢吉华善于在适当时候“点拨”创业者。毕业于上海理工大学的张元刚最早在电脑软件开发领域创业。谢吉华问他:“开发的软件卖了,下一个呢?盈利模式在哪里?你需要想想怎么才能让客户甩不掉你。”

转机出现在2010年。碧云社区要建设智慧社区项目,接不接这个项目,张元刚征求“师傅”谢吉华的意见。谢吉华给他分析,“物联网刚刚兴起,以后发展趋势不可估量,而且这个项目可以让你从做软件转型到做服务供应,碧云是你学习的机会,就是亏本也要做。”接受碧云智慧社区项目后,张元刚大展手脚,“居家候诊”、社区电商等民生服务受到欢迎。

创业不易

谢吉华说,创业很不容易。这也是他的切身感受。谢吉华读书时学的是经济,刚上大学他就被选调为青年干部培养,后来进入团市委工作。1994年,谢吉华离开工作了11年的团市委,“下海”到上海科技投资公司。在团市委他是部长,到了科投只是普通职员,从零开始。

在科投,谢吉华保持“每年上一个台阶”,一度他曾是5个子公司的总经理,从房地产、物业到开发公司,各种类型都有。“虽然只拿一份工资,但比别人多了四次学习的机会。”

2001年前后,谢吉华和孵化器产生交集。杨创成立时,市科委、复旦大学和杨浦区政府三家股东共投了264万元,所有资产不过一座6000多平方米的糖果厂旧厂房。是什么吸引谢吉华甘愿交回一年的奖金也要离开老东家加盟杨创?“杨浦区是上海的‘高校区’,集中了上海四成高校资源,科研成果潜在溢出效应明显,是国家首批创新型示范城区之一。这里的创业带动就业率远远高出全国平均水平。”谢吉华说,正是这种地缘优势催生了上海杨浦高新技术创业服务中心。在后来众多场合,谢吉华都不无得意地讲起,“大学校区、科技园区、公共社区的联动是杨浦转型的重要路径,孵化器算是‘三区联动’思路最早的实践者。”

创新“孵化”

“完全靠政府输血,大家捧着饭碗,跟机关一样办事,一定不是创业孵化的出路。”谢吉华上任之初就开始了一场改革,完全市场化运作,三个股东不能安排任何人进公司。2005年初,属于事业单位的杨浦高新技术创业服务中心和上海高科技企业杨浦孵化基地有限公司重组为现在的杨创,取消原有事业编制,从总经理到员工全部实行劳动合同制。
2007年,谢吉华提出建设孵化器集团,形成了一系列不同功能的业务子公司和专业化服务公司,比如小额贷款公司、投资公司、商务公司、物业公司以及物联网、云计算等专业孵化器。

此后杨创又开始建“创业苗圃”和“加速器”,延伸创业服务的链条,形成孵化器集群。在创业苗圃内,只要是一个“像样的点子”就行。项目进入后,办公、水电等支出都由公共服务提供,完全“零成本”,培育期为半年,有前途就“升级”。

有人这样评价,在孵化器领域里,杨创已成为“创新”的代名词。它的每一次创新都引领着行业发展方向:开创了全国孵化器五大发展模式之一的“杨浦模式”;率先在全国启动支持大学生创业项目;建立“创业苗圃”,将孵化器服务向前端延伸;成立首家由孵化器作为主发起人的小额贷款公司;国内首家拥有贷款和投资功能的企业孵化器;建立起以“创业苗圃—孵化器—加速器”为核心的创新服务体系……

zh_CNChinese
en_USEnglish zh_CNChinese
滚动到顶部