Technology transfer - China's strategy

1

If we consider technology transfer from the perspective of worldwide industrial transformation and upgrading and China's economic development stage, we must enlarge the time and space scales in order to see the big "potential", and only when we follow the trend can we achieve our career. If we consider technology transfer as a career or as a way for enterprises to strategically layout their business, now is a very good time to start.

General remarks - the so-called general trend

On the one hand, China's outward-looking economic performance is escalating.

From the lower-order use of comparative advantage for substitution (exchanging China's natural resources, manpower and technology for overseas markets and overseas scarce natural resources and raw materials) to the current allocation and sharing of global resources through capital. The shift from substitution to sharing is actually a shift from relying on resource endowments to pursuing total factor productivity (TFP) enhancement, i.e. sharing global markets, human resources, technology, and scarce natural resources by capital-based means. This is a shift in the capacity camp.

On the other hand is the upgrading of China's talent pool.

(1) China's entrepreneurial community has grown, and they have adapted to making profits in the midst of great uncertainty, practiced the skills of rapid iteration and fuzzy and flexible decision-making, and adapted to the dynamic competition of globalization.

2) China's application-oriented, unoriginal, test-based education and the introduction of foreign companies in the first two decades have created the world's largest group of engineers with accumulated capabilities in different fields, as well as a number of clusters of innovation-absorbing enterprises around large enterprises. As a result, China has strong cross-industry and cross-technology system integration capabilities.

The shift in the capability camp, i.e., the shift in roles combined with the improvement in capabilities, has led to a significant adjustment in the behavior patterns of Chinese companies. From a purely trade-based, global production-supporting competitive model to a strategic, innovation-driven model that focuses on proprietary core strengths. Considering also the significant global ranking of China's domestic-demand economy, the core competency that a large number of Chinese companies are committed to improving or reinventing is to deepen their domestic demand, using overseas technologies or brands to graft onto their domestic parent and add to their core competencies.

Laying out technology transfer and following the "trend".

It is in this context that technology transfer and its other manifestation ¬- international mergers and acquisitions- have become a major trend. In line with this trend, previously serious problems will be solved in the course of development, such as the protection of intellectual property rights, the optimization of the business environment, the transformation of the role and control of government, the adjustment of the development model of education and human resources training, and the increased importance that society attaches to innovation and its tolerance for risk.

Technology transfer in terms of "volume"

Under this trend, we are vigorously deploying technology transfer as an engine to drive national innovation. In the strategic layout of technology transfer, we focus on two core areas.

I. Key to improving technology transfer and technology transformation.

Second, how capital is organically integrated into each stage of the process.

The first step is to create an environment for technology transfer, and the following approach is mentioned along with the implicit premise.

(1) We build our resource networks to gather more supply and demand for technology, on the premise that there is always more that can be matched and transferred.

(2) We gather the various service providers in the whole process of technology transfer in order to find more matches and to solve the obstacles affecting the transfer of technologies other than technology, based on the premise that the technology is essentially transferable, but the supporting services are not enough.

3) The logic of the premise that we use capital and capital-like instruments such as securitization or exchanges for accommodation is still essentially that the technology is transferable, it just needs catalysts, lubricants and a centralized trading venue.

None of this is really making large amounts or improving quality yet, just making what could have happened happen and showing up.

Technology transfer in terms of "quality"

Let's go back to the origin of the problem, the two key words of technology transfer, "technology" and "transfer", the core issue is to give "technology" to "transfer". "Getting out requires that the technology reach a transferable state and that the supply and demand sides of the transfer have a clear purpose.

From a global perspective, no matter how good the advanced countries are at institutional and market environment, technology transfer is still not smooth, not because of lack of resource base, not because of lack of professional services (patent analysis, legal, transaction structure design, etc.), not because of lack of mature and perfect capital market, but the most essential reason.

There is a gap between the supplied technology and the commercially and industrially available technology needed by the demand side (even if the technology is already industrialized and transferred, there is still a readjustment process according to the clear use of the demand side).

Because technology sources such as university research institutes are about doing 0-1 or 1-10, which is an attribute of scientific research itself (whether it is the research system or the individual capabilities of the researchers).

The market-based business is to do 1w-1b, which is an inherent property of market competition (cost, time, cash flow, uncertainty, the individual capabilities of engineers, etc.).

There is a rationality in existence: the market spontaneously makes up for the gap in order to realize the innovation drive, so there is the phenomenon of horizontal projects in research institutes, independent professional CROs in the market, university spin-off companies, etc. All of these approaches do things from different paths to compensate for the gap. All of these approaches have done things to compensate for the gap in different ways.

We are trying another route, or rather a recombination of existing routes. We have built an experimental platform in collaboration with the industry, which allows us to externalize the transversal projects of research institutes and make the mechanism more flexible; at the same time, we have the capability of CRO; we can generate derivative companies more directly, we can design the structure of derivative companies better, and we can get better access to capital.

At the same time, our experimental platforms can be organized and operated from an industrial perspective, and can be designed and operated by industrial engineers and capital market experts. We try to use a number of experimental platforms as a vehicle on which we can build a small habitat specifically to complement the gap.

2

We see the establishment of experimental platforms not only as an indispensable part of the larger system of technology transfer, but also as the key to solving the problem of technology transfer from its origin.

In the process of technology transfer and transformation, we guide capital to be integrated in all aspects. We set up pools of funds closely related to technology transfer and transformation, and design benefit bundling and redistribution mechanisms based on the risk appetite of funds of different attributes. Such pools need to include the following.

3

en_USEnglish
zh_CNChinese en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

技术转移——中国战略

1

以从世界范围内产业转型升级与我国经济发展阶段的角度思考技术转移为切入点,必须将时间尺度和空间尺度拉大,才能看到大的“势”,顺势而为,才能成就事业。若把技术转移看成事业或者企业以技术转移作为战略布局的一个方式,现在已是非常好的切入时点。

总论——所谓大势所趋

一方面中国的外向型经济表现形式的升级。

从低阶的利用比较优势来置换(用我国自然资源、人力、工艺来置换海外市场以及海外稀缺自然资源和原材料)到如今通过资本来进行全球资源配置和分享。从置换到分享,实则是从依靠资源禀赋到追求全要素生产率的提高,即用资本为主的手段来分享全球市场、人才、技术、以及稀缺自然资源。此为能力阵营的转换。

另一方面是中国的人才储备的升级。

1)中国企业家群体壮大,他们适应在大的不确定性中谋利,练就的是快速迭代和模糊决策、灵活决策的本事,适应全球化的动态竞争。

2)中国前二十年的应用型非原创的应试教育以及外企引入策略,造就了全球最大量的不同领域能力积累的工程师群体,以及一批围绕大企业周围做配套的吸收创新型企业集群。因此中国有强大的跨行业跨技术领域的系统集成能力。

能力阵营的转变即角色的转变加之能力的提升,使得中国企业行为模式大大调整。从单纯的贸易型、全球生产配套型竞争模式,到关注自有核心优势的战略型创新驱动模式。也考虑到中国内需经济在全球范围内的显著排位,大量中国企业致力于提高或重塑的核心能力即是深耕内需,利用海外技术或品牌嫁接到国内母体,为其核心能力添砖加瓦。

布局技术转移,顺“势”而为

在这个大形势下,技术转移及其另一个表现形式¬——国际并购,才成为大趋势。顺着这个大势,以前很严重的问题都会在发展中解决,如知识产权的保护、企业经营环境的优化、政府角色和控制力的转变、教育和人才培养发展模式的调整、以及全社会对于创新的重视程度和对风险的宽容程度的提高。

从“量”看技术转移

在这样的大势下,我们大力布局技术转移,作为国家创新驱动的引擎。在技术转移战略布局中,我们核心关注两块:

一、能本质提高技术转移和技术转化的关键;

二、资本如何在这个过程中有机融入每个阶段。

首先做技术转移环境打造,以下把做法和隐含的前提一并提及:

1)我们建资源网络是为了搜集到更多的技术供给和需求,前提逻辑是数量多了总有可匹配可转移的;

2)我们聚集技术转移全过程上的各类服务机构是为了找到更多的匹配并进而解决技术以外的各类影响转移的障碍,前提逻辑是本质上技术可转了,只是配套服务不够;

3)我们用资本以及类似资本的手段如证券化或交易所是为了融通,前提逻辑还是本质上技术可转了,只是需要催化剂、润滑剂以及一个可集中交易的场所。

其实这些都还不是真正意义上的做大量或提高质量,只是把本可以发生的让他发生和显现出来。

从“质”看技术转移

我们重新回到本源问题看,技术转移的两个关键词“技术”和“转移”,核心问题是把“技术”给“转移”出去,就要求技术达到可转移的状态了,且转移的供求双方目的明确。

而从全世界范围看,不管先进国家先发国家如何在制度和市场环境上做得多好了,技术转移还是不顺畅,不是因为没有资源库、不是因为没有专业服务机构(专利分析的、法律的、交易结构设计的等等)、不是因为没有成熟完善的资本市场,而是最本质的原因:

供给出来的技术离需求方需要的可商用和产业化的技术之间有个gap在(哪怕是已经产业化的技术的转移,依然有根据需求方明确用途的再调整过程)。

因为技术源头如高校科研院所就是做0-1或1-10的,这是科学研究本身的属性(不管是科研体系还是科研人员的个性能力);

市场化的企业就是做1w-1b的,这是市场竞争本身的属性(成本、时间、现金流、不确定性、工程师的个性能力等)。

存在即有合理性:市场自发的为弥补gap来实现创新驱动,于是有科研院所的横向课题现象、有市场上独立专业的CRO机构、有大学衍生公司等。这些方式全都是在弥补gap上从不同路径做了事情。

我们正在尝试另一种路径,或者说是现有路径的重新组合。我们与产业界联合搭建了实验平台:把科研院所的横向课题外部化并机制更灵活了;也同时具备了CRO的能力;可以更直接产生衍生公司、可以更好的设计衍生公司的架构从而更好的获得资本支持。

同时,我们的实验平台更能从产业视角出发来组织场地、设备资源和运营,甚至直接就由产业界的工程科研人员和投资界的资本市场专家来共同设计和运营。我们尝试以若干实验平台为载体,在其上可建立一个专门为了弥补gap而运行的小生境:

2

我们把实验平台的建立不仅看成是技术转移大体系中不可缺少的一环,更是从本源出发解决技术转移问题的关键。

在技术转移和转化过程中,我们引导资本全方位有机结合进来。我们设置与技术转移和转化密切关联的资金池,根据不同属性资金的不同风险偏好,来设计利益捆绑机制和再分配机制。这样的资金池中需要包括如下:

3

zh_CNChinese
en_USEnglish zh_CNChinese
滚动到顶部